Draft Logo Project

Logo Draft

I decided to create a logo that represents the different aspects of nature. The idea of the compass relates to nature because it is a common tool used when exploring. I also decided to incorporate trees which a great representation of nature in one picture.

My design was influenced with my idea to incorporate a compass. I googled logos that had compasses and came across a few that were plain and simple. The next step was figuring out what had to be placed in the empty space in the middle. I decided to include something that actually had to do with nature. The significance of the yellow lettering and it being in. a circle, represents the sun and of course the trees represents a forest like environment.

I began my design process with the center of the compass. I created a triangle by using the poly shaping tool and changing the settings to 3 sides. I used the filling color as green and duplicated them to overlay each other to create a tree. I did this three times to make them not identical. I made the triangles then I grouped the layers so it would be easier to move the trees around. Next I used the rectangle tool to created short brown stumps for the trees and placed them under the trees. In order to get the text around the trees like I wanted it to I created a circle using the circle tool I made one around the trees. I held down the text box tool to find how to write on the line of the circle (which was circling around the trees). I changed the font to yellow to represent certain significance. Also using the rectangle tool I made long lines that would later become my arrows of my compass. Using the polygon tool once again I created a triangle to complete my arrow. After getting it the perfect size I grouped them together to copy and paste it 3 times. Lastly I searched for a font that showed some type of modern vibe that would give the letters a vintage look to represent a compass. I used all shapes and elements from Illustrator itself. The hardest challenge I encountered when creating this logo was figuring out how to create a tree without a pen tool then moving them to make them all even.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started